top of page

Morehead appointed to National Football Foundation board

University of Georgia President Jere W. Morehead has been appointed to the National Football Foundation board of trustees, effective January 1, 2023. Morehead will serve a three-year term. 

 The National Football Foundation (NFF) is a nonprofit organization that administers programs leveraging the benefits of amateur football to foster scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. National Football Foundation initiatives include, among others, the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame, the William V. Campbell Trophy and National Scholar-Athlete Program, and the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Award.

 The foundation, which selects and inducts members of the College Football Hall of Fame, also supports a chapter network, consisting of 120 local chapters across 47 states, that distributes more than $1 million in scholarships annually to student-athletes. 

 The National Football Foundation board of trustees is comprised of leaders in business, academics and athletics. Current trustees include NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, College Football Hall of Fame member Archie Manning, retired Admiral and former University of Texas System Chancellor Bill McRaven and Pro Football Hall of Fame member Troy Aikman.    

 Morehead, who has led the UGA since 2013, serves as president of the Southeastern Conference (SEC), a member of the NCAA Board of Governors, and chair of the NCAA Division 1 Board of Directors.


123 views0 comments


bottom of page