top of page

Advance Voting is Underway for August Runoff in 9th Congressional District

By Lisa McGlaun

Voters, did you know there is a runoff election happening in Athens-Clarke County on August 11? Candidates from the Democratic and Republican parties in the 9th Congressional District are competing for spots on the November 2020 General Election ballot. Democratic voters in the 9th District will choose between Devin Pandy and Brooke Siskin. Republican voters will cast a vote for either Andrew Clyde or Matt Gurtler.

The 9th District encompasses parts or all of twenty northeastern Georgia counties, including northern Clarke County. Because of this, the runoff election only effects residents who vote in three of our county’s precincts – (2A) JJ Harris Elementary, (5D) Athens Clarke County Fleet Management Building, and (1A) Winterville Train Depot.

If a voter is unsure if they are part of the 9th district, contact our office, 706-613-3150, or visit online.

As a registered voter living in the 9th district, residents are eligible to cast a ballot in this Primary Runoff Election at their precinct on Election Day or during early voting, which began on July 20. Just a note, this runoff is the part of the primary election that was held on June 9th. Voters who cast a ballot in the Primary must vote the same party ballot in the runoff. For a voter who cast a nonpartisan ballot in the June Primary, either party’s ballot may be chosen during the runoff election.  If a person did not vote in June then they may also choose either party’s ballot for the runoff.

There is still time to request an absentee ballot for the August 11 Primary Runoff election. You do not need a reason to request an absentee by mail ballot. Anyone may vote this way. Voting by mail is encouraged during the pandemic to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Please contact our office, 706-613-3150, to request an application for the absentee ballot or online at The application deadline is August 7.

If a voter eligible to vote in the August 11 Primary Runoff chooses to vote in person, early voting is being held at the Board of Elections Office, 155 E. Washington Street, continuing Monday through Friday until August 7 (8am – 5pm, except August 5 until 7pm). Saturday voting on August 1 (9am – 4pm). An additional early voting site will open at 420 McKinley Drive, Miriam Moore Community Center beginning August 5 – 7 (10am – 7pm on Wednesday, 10am – 5pm on Thursday and Friday). Precautions against the pandemic are being strictly followed at the in person voting locations.

Our staff gladly serves the voters of Athens-Clarke County. Please feel free to contact us about the upcoming Primary Runoff Election on August 11, 2020. We enjoy talking about elections and solving your voting related issues.

Lisa McGlaun is Elections Assistant at the Athens-Clarke County Board of Elections & Voter Registration

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All



bottom of page