top of page

Moss appointed interim chief of ACC Fire and Emergency Services Department

Nate Moss (r) is congratulated by Jeff Scarbrough (l) upon his promotion to battalion chief in 2022

Battalion Chief of Support Services Nate Moss was named Interim Fire Chief and Fire and Emergency Services Department Director as of Oct. 7 due to the retirement of Fire Chief and Department Director Jeff Scarbrough.

Moss has served with the department for 20 years and has spent his entire career in public safety with the department. He manages public information for the department, assists with many emergency management responsibilities, and has worked in areas of emergency suppression response, training, and administration with the department.

Retiring Fire Chief Jeff Scarbrough had served with Athens-Clarke County since 2013. Prior to joining ACCGov, he served as as a Chief Officer with Sandy Springs for over seven years to help establish the community’s fire department and served with the Clayton County Fire Department for 26 years. Over his career, Scarbrough served more than 43 years in fire and emergency services departments.

132 views0 comments


bottom of page